The Insect Bite

I wrote in an earlier post about an insect bite on my upper thigh. After six doctors and 2 hospitals, it’s still there! After 2 courses of oral antibiotics I had to go to hospital to have intravenous antibiotics because the oral ones weren’t working. “This is bad, bad, bad!” the older doctor yelled when his colleague called him into the room to get his opinion. “You go right to hospital right now!” he yelled at me.

I got a teensy bit scared then, but I didn’t let my imagination run away with me. I got into a nice conversation with a young man about his broken arm while I was waiting for the I.V. and another interesting discussion with an older man about his sore back as I lay there staring at the ceiling. It’s going to be fine, it’s going to be fine I kept telling myself.

And it is fine. It’s still all different kinds of blue and red, but it’s not really sore anymore and nowhere near as swollen as it was. Turns out it was actually a spider bite, which the last doctor explained to me won’t respond to antibiotics. “It’s a common misconception,” he said, “that only white-tailed spiders cause these kinds of responses. Any spider bite can cause this kind of reaction, and some even worse. The problem is that there isn’t really a way to treat this. We just have to let it evolve.” I’m pretty sure it will evolve into some kind of super-power. I’m looking forward to that. It will help me tame the unicorns.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Insect Bite

    • Yeah, that would be a worry, especially with a little guy. Red backs are bad news for them. I really, really hate spiders! They freak me right out. I won’t ride through the lane at the bottom of the property because I’m scared a spider will get on me and it will make me lose my mind! Even though I’m really scared of them, if we get one inside I insist on being the one to catch it and put it outside because I’m afraid that Ash will just “say” he caught it, when in fact, he just shooed it behind the chest of drawers.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Haha Ash wouldn’t do that would he?? We don’t get huntsmans in this house but I used to just leave them where they were at the old place, cause I hated how they jump or gallop off if you try catching them. Most of the others get squished or sprayed though, especially the white tails.

    Like

    • I don’t trust him! He acts like he doesn’t care if it gets caught or not. Like it’s “no big deal”. As if it isn’t the biggest deal in the world, come on, those things are out to get me! I get them in a container and just throw the entire container outside.

      I just can’t stand the way they look. It’s really because I can’t tell what they’re thinking. With a large animal, like a horse or a dog, or a pig, I can look at it and pretty much tell if it’s safe to approach or how to use my body language to communicate, but that doesn’t work for invertebrates. It’s just so stupid that I’m scared of creepy-crawlies considering how long I’ve spent working in entomology over the years!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

