I did it!

I made it! Yay!

I got to Toowoomba a couple of days earlier than expected, but the timing was perfect to welcome a new son and brother for my friends Shanny , Adam and big sister Aubrey.  This wonderful family have been instrumental in helping me with all aspects of my walk: They have provided me with accommodation, raffle prizes, storage, transportation, emotional support and have networked on my behalf to organise events and donations as well as donating themselves. Adam even pretended he didn’t care that I ate almost all of his chocolate! Both Shanny’s and Adam’s parents have been involved in helping me too, so it’s just been awesome that all of these very busy people have made time to help in anyway they could.

My husband, Ash came and picked me up and it was great to see him! He did get lost though and spent a fair bit of time driving in the wrong direction on McKenzie Street.

“I’m at the end of the street,” he said on the phone.

“Well, you’re at the wrong end, because I’m standing on the corner and you haven’t driven past me. You have to drive another 7km.” I replied.

“Oh, the street keeps going then?” he asked.

“Yes!” I answered. He’d been driving around in circles.

He made it eventually 🙂

We called back into my bush campsites on the way home and collected the rubbish and water drums I had to leave behind. I got to most of them before it was too dark to see, but I will go back for the rest ASAP.

I kept a diary of my experience, so I will write posts about that and share photos.

I really had a great time. I met some amazing people, learnt some pretty cool stuff about others, the world in general and about myself. It’s going to be hard to go back to a normal life where people aren’t congratulating me on my awesomeness every five minutes!

The most important thing that I learnt by doing this is:

Everyone needs to turn off their TV and never watch another news broadcast because the world is nothing like what the media would have us believe.

 The world is NOT a bad place. People are NOT crazy, evil or terrible. There is FAR MORE GOOD than there is bad. The world is FULL of kindness, generosity, happiness, love, hope, tenacity, beauty, opportunity, friendship and good fortune. The things we are afraid of are NOT warranted. Sure, bad stuff happens and sometimes things go wrong, but when was the last time you saw a news broadcast that told more good stories than bad? We have become a society programmed to seek out the negative so, that’s what we get; negativity.  By and large we have come to believe the world to be in a state of horrendous disrepair. It’s not actually like that. The world is in good shape and all we have to do is choose to seek out the positive to see the world for what it really is. It’s not easy and takes quite a lot of commitment, but once you build momentum, it becomes exciting and rewarding in a way you never imagined. Did anyone ever fix anything with hate, fear or despair?

sunrise-tansey

Sunrise at Tansey Showgrounds

 

8 thoughts on “I did it!

  1. Well done Jennifer – never doubted you wouldn’t make it and what inspirational words – I haven’t had a TV for over 30 years and I like it that way.

    Like

  2. Yay, I’m so proud of you, you’re amazing! And what a great blog post, I agree that we’re constantly swamped with negative media stories, with such little focus on the good things people do and achieve. The 24 hour news cycle and Internet are so toxic in so many ways…

    Like

    • Thanks 🙂

      Ash has started having these story hypotheticals: what if blah blah blah. Tonight, as we sat watching fires burn on the hillsides, he said, “What if there was a movement to ban television?” An interesting conversation followed. One that we would not have had the opportunity to have if we were watching TV instead of grass fires.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats Jen, so proud of you! I knew you’d rock it! It’s so true what you said, Jonno gets up me for not taking enough interest in the news but I just don’t like what I hear. I too choose to cultivate positivity over negativity. And don’t worry, just call me whenever you need to hear that you’re awesome, I’ll tell you!

    Like

    • Thanks Freya! I will call you and I will call when I run out of tea as well! No one wants a repeat of the great tea crisis of 2016. The world doesn’t need such heartache!

      Tom O’Toole said, “What’s the point of watching the news? It’s the same news as it was 10, 20, 30, 40 years ago.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

