Day 30 Toowoomba

“there ain’t no journey what don’t change you some.”

– David Mitchell

Date 13th September

I wanted to see how far Café Valetta was from Shanny’s house, so I knew how long it would take me to get there for my official arrival tomorrow. I also had to make up a few kilometres. It took an hour and a quarter to walk to the café, so I just kept walking down the hill to the big shopping centre at the bottom.

Even though I knew that Ash was coming to pick me up tomorrow and the whole thing would be over, I felt like I really wanted to leave. I also think I felt a sense of loss that everything was coming to an end and I was starting to wonder what my life would be like when I get back home, not to mention the fact that I don’t like shopping centres and really only went in the there to use the ATM. I’ve got to get out of here! I said to myself.

I walked back up the hill and decided to take myself out for lunch at this place that had $9 schnitzels. The guts of the building was weird. I couldn’t work out if it was a pub or a restaurant. I wrote a story about the lights:

The lights looked like they could come alive and start crawling across the ceiling and down the walls. They were like giant black spiders that somehow seemed to have an air of malevolence about them. Unwarm, uncaring and calculating, once set free they would stalk across the entire room, capturing and devouring anyone within reach. All of this they would do with the attitude of machines.

I almost walked out without paying because I’d forgotten that I hadn’t paid at the start. The schnitzel was  $9 and I got a small glass of softdrink. The total came to $14.90, which means I paid almost $5 for glass of sugary water! WTF!

I went back to the hospital to see everyone and a midwife, Elsie, gave me a donation. Shanny was back in her room on the ward by then and Aubrey’s gran was telling her it was time to leave. Poor Aubrey 😦 She was so sad that her mum couldn’t come too. She grabbed Shanny’s hand and said, “come on Mummy, let’s go.” It almost made me cry!

spider-lightThis is kind of what the lights looked like. Photo from https://www.aliexpress.com

Leave a Reply

